Montachusett Metropolitan Planning Organization (MMPO)

The Montachusett Metropolitan Planning Organization (MMPO) was established through federal and state regulations to meet requirements that metropolitan areas have a "3C" (Continuing, Comprehensive and Cooperative) transportation planning process that results in plans and programs that consider all transportation modes and supports metropolitan community development and social goals. The role of the MMPO is to perform all functions required by federal and state laws and regulations. Signatory members of the MMPO include the mayors of Fitchburg, Leominster and Gardner, representatives of four sub-regions of the Montachusett Region as well as the Secretary and CEO of MassDOT, the Highway Administrator of MassDOT, the Chair of the MRPC and the Chair of the Regional Transit Authority (i.e. the Montachusett Regioanl Transit Authority (MART)). On January 25, 2017, the MMPO set their regular meeting date to the third Wednesday of every month at 1:00 p.m. at the MRPC Offices. Please check the calendar to confirm all MMPO meetings.

The four MMPO sub-regions are comprised as follows:

Sub-Region 1: Athol, Hubbardston, Petersham, Phillipston, Royalston, Templeton, Winchendon.
Sub-Region 2: Ashburnham, Ashby, Groton, Townsend, Westminster;
Sub-Region 3: Ayer, Harvard, Lunenburg, Shirley.
Sub-Region 4: Clinton, Lancaster, Sterling.

For further information on the MMPO see the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) that created the current MPO format.

Current Montachusett MPO Member Listing

MPO Action Items

Transportation Improvement Program (TIP)

Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP)

Regional Transportation Plan (RTP) - "Working Towards the Future" 2020 RTP

Limited English Proficiency (LEP) Access Plan

Public Participation Plan (May 25, 2016)

Title VI Complaint Procedure (English) (Español)